top of page

Got "Green" Guilt?

Got "Green" Guilt?

The message is all around us: Everybody must do their part to save the planet. So, in order to do our part we recycle, we walk insteaad of driving, we compost our food and we mulch our gardens.

Cigarette Butts and Goose Poops.jpg

Or do we?

Nobody is perfect, and even the most strident eco-friendly person slacks off now and again.

I do my best to be good to Mother Earth. But I slip up. A lot.

For example, I find I use plastic in more areas of my life than in the past. The reason? There are more plastic products available now, and fewer “natural” -i.e. wood, fiber, leather, etc.- than there used to be. Last summer was especially difficult for me as I suffered the worst cockroach infestation I've ever known. Not only did I fill a dumpster with much of my belongings, I used chemicals, smoke bombs, and traps to help eradicate the problem. And then I bought plastic tubs to store the rest of my possessions. Tubs and tubs and tubs. And now I live surrounded by plastic – and I feel safer and more secure than I did before!

Thank goodness there is somewhere to turn! Fans of the NPR program Science

Friday may remember reporter Flora Lichtman. She left Sci Fri and now has her own podcast, The Adaptors - http://www.theadaptors.org/

Plastic tubs keep my belongings safe and secure

The Adaptors offers the opportunity to “confess your climate guilthttp://www.theadaptors.org/confess

Just call 844-U-FESS-UP – it is totally anonymous and guilt-free!

With Earth Day fast approaching, it is good to have this opportunity to clear our collective conscience!

Still not ready to come forward with your mea culpa? Give a listen to the Science Friday segment from Friday, February 6, 2015 – and hear the confessions of other eco scofflaws!

Science Friday LOGO.png

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page