top of page

Sharing Is Car-ing

In May 2004 my car, the Rolling Rat Trap, blew its tranny. I decided that would be the last car I ever own. I am concerned about the amount of pollution and natural resources used to manufacture and operate automobiles. Since that day I've relied on my feet, the bus, my bike, and rides from friends and strangers to get around. The experience has been a mixed bag of wonderful and frustrating. Overall I've saved thousands of dollars by not paying for insurance, gas, oil, maintenance and repairs.

I've also learned a lot, too. When forced to travel slowly I've learned to truly enjoy the environment around me, no matter where I am. By not being surrounded by metal and plastic; by not focusing on the road; by not travelling 20 miles per hour or faster - - I am able to truly see the world around me. I've learned bird songs and tree identification due to the fact I can take my time and enjoy the world around me.

I've also learned about the cost of NOT owning a car. The cost of not owning a car is high. The inconvenience of waiting for busses, inadequate bus service, begging for rides, hauling groceries and supplies on my bike... So many events and opportunities I've missed due to the fact I cannot get to where I would like to go.

There is a solution, though, and that solution finally arrived in Springfield. Car Share. Car share permits people like me to utilize automobiles when we need them without the commitment of car ownership. This concept is available in Springfield on the Missouri State University Campus through Zipcar. Members of Zipcar can reserve a car for as little as one hour or for several days. There is a monthly fee and an hourly/day rate which includes insurance and gas. In an era when it is reported the Millennial Generation does not view car ownership as a necessity, car sharing simply makes sense.

There are two types of car share options. One type is Peer-To-Peer, wherein a car owner

offers to rent their vehicle to others on an hourly basis. One company that does this is Getaround. The other car share option is one like Zipcar which is owned by an organization and requires a monthly membership fee. Zipcar and Hourcar are two examples of this.

The "Sharing Economy" is a growing and viable segment of our society. In Springfield we have some examples of this, including Drury University's Bicycle Share Program and Springfield's new Tool Library. Heck, you can even consider apartment rentals as part of a "Sharing Economy". And I would place Community Gardens in that category.

I recently joined Zipcar and took some wheels for a spin, all the way to St. Louis and back. Although it's been a decade since I've owned a car and driven a car, the act of driving came back pretty quickly. I enjoyed having the mobility to go where and when I desired. No more begging for rides or waiting in the cold and rain for a bus. This is a service I will utilize on a regular basis. Sharing is caring, and it's good for the planet - and the soul!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page