top of page

Long Time No Blog!

Holy cow! It’s been SO LONG since I’ve written a blog post. Many reasons and no excuses, really!

The year of 2017 saw a few changes in NatureHood activities. For the first time since 2014 we did not hold our Butterflies and Bees Celebration. It just seemed time to move on from that. Nor did we have any other events in the Rountree Neighborhood of Springfield. There are always ideas on the front burner, but they haven’t come to life.

Wildlife HEROs  - Autumn 2017

One thing we did do was hold our Wildlife HERO program in the fall at Delaware Elementary. We focused on Native Plants. Among our activities participants got to decide what kind of wildlife they wanted to attract to the Delaware school yard, and then they chose and planted plants to attract critters. The overwhelming choice was my favorite – hummingbirds! I am so excited and cannot wait to see who comes to visit the new native plant garden in the future!

Wildlife HERO also received a mini-grant from the Missouri Environmental Education Association. We are grateful for this honor and plan to use the funds to

The vehicle - our first wintery weather together!

One major change in my life is I now own a car. For the first time since 2004 I have wheels, and it’s been a huge help and a huge pain. It helps my incredible arthritis pain and reduced my exhaustion from the effort it takes to bicycle and bus everywhere. It also takes so much money from my pocket, and I worry all the time about the pollution, the waste products… it weighs heavily on my heart, but until the time we as a nation take mass transit seriously, this really is the best way for me to get around.

This year I am going through the process to renew my Missouri Environmental Education Certification through the Missouri Environmental Education Association. It is not as complicated as the initial certification, but does require a lot of reflection and future planning. This is a good process to figure out where I've been and where I am going. Since starting the initial certification process back in 2008 (?) I've come a long, long way and am grateful for the wonderful experiences I've had as a result of taking this journey.

May your 2018 be fabulous, and I hope to see you somewhere along the way!

Icicles on New England Aster, Delaware Elementary Garden


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page